Commission on Geographical Education of the International Geographical Union

People

Steering Committee of the IGU-CGE

Dr. Chew-Hung Chang

Co-Chair

Dean, Academic and Strategic Development & Associate Professor, Humanities and Social Studies Education Academic Group, National Institute of Education| Senator, Nanyang Technological University| Adjunct Professor, East China Normal University

NIE 1-04-06, 1 Nanyang Walk, Singapore 637616
Tel: +65 6790-3084
Email: chewhung.chang@nie.edu.sg

Website

Michael Solem

Dr. Michael Solem

Co-Chair

Senior Advisor for Geography Education, Association of American Geographers | Professor of Geography, Texas State University | Co-DirectorNational Center for Research in Geography Education

Department of Geography

Texas State University

Tel: 512-245-4770
Email: msolem@txstate.edu

Website

Dr. Jongwon Lee

Secretary

Professor, Dept. of Social Studies Education,

Ewha Womans University, Dept. of Social Studies Education, 52, Ewhayeodae-gil, Seodaemun-gu, Seoul 03760
S. Korea
Tel: +83 02 3277 2642
Email: jongwonlee@ewha.ac.kr

Dr. Kathrin Schulman

Webmaster

Lecturer in Geography, Jewish Studies and their education

Andoni Arenas Martija

Dr. Andoni Arenas Martija

Associate Professor

Laboratory of Geography, Education and Social Actors of Space.
Institute of Geography, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso.
Avenida Brasil 2241. CP 2362807. Valparaíso, Chile

Email:  andoni.arenas@pucv.cl / andoni.arenas.geo@gmail.com

 

David Öbring

Doctoral student in Educational Sciences, Lecturer in Human Geography

Lund University, Linneaus University
Lunds universitet, Campus Helsingborg
Institutionen för utbildningsvetenskap
Box 882, 25108 Helsingborg, Sweden
Tel: (Cell) 736510394
Email: david.orbring@uvet.lu.se / david.orbring@lnu.se

Website

 

Dr. Di Wilmot

Professor, Dean of Education

Faculty of Education
Rhodes University, Grahamstown 6140, South Africa
Tel: +27 46 6038385; (Cell) 083 654 6662
Email: D.Wilmot@ru.ac.za

Website

 

Dr. Duan Yushan

Professor,Vice Present and Secretary General of Geography Teaching Society of China, Director of Shanghai Geography Education and Teaching Research Base, Editor-in-chief of journal Geography Teaching

East China Normal University, 500 Dongchuan Rd, Shanghai 200241, P.R.China
Tel/Fax: +86-21-54344020
Mobile: +86-13701715221
Email: ysduan@126.com / ysduan@geo.ecnu.edu.cn

Martin Hanus

 

Dr. Martin Hanus

 

 

 

Dr. Tine Benecker

Professor of Geography & Education

Website

Dr. Gillian Kidman

Associate Professor in Science Education

Monash University, Room 166, Building 902, Berwick Campus 100 Clyde Road Berwick VIC 3806 Australia
Tel: +61 3 9904 7237
Email: gillian.kidman@monash.edu

Website

 

Advisory members of the steering committee

Dr. Clare Brooks

Reader in Geography Education

Institute of Education, University of London, 20 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0AL, UK
Tel: +44 (0)20 7612 6047
Email: c.brooks@ioe.ac.uk

Website

 

Dr. John Lidstone

Professor Faculty of Education, Cultural and Language Studies in Education

Editor IRGEE

Queensland University of Technology, Victoria Park Road, Kelvin Grove, Brisbane, Queensland 4059, Australia
Email: j.lidstone@qut.edu.au

Website

Dr. Joop van der Schee

Emeritus Professor for Geography Education

Faculty Behavioural and Movement Sciences, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam,  Buitenveldertselaan 3, 1082 VA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
E-mail: j.a.vander.schee@vu.nl

Website

 

Dr. Fernando Alexandre

Geography Coordinator

Department of Social Sciences, S. João do Estoril High School & Education and Development Research Unit, Faculty of Sciences and Technology, Lisbon, Rua Brito Camacho, 2769-501 Estoril, Portugal
Tel: +351 214658440
Email: fernando.alexandre@essje.pt

 

Dr. Osvaldo Muniz-Solari

Professor of Geography

Department of Geography, Texas State University, San Marcos, TX 78666, USA
Tel. +1 512-245-0375
Email: o.muniz@txstate.edu

Website

 

Dr. Sarah Bednarz

Emiritus Professor

Department of Geography, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas 77843-3147, United States
Tel: 979 845 1579
Email: s-bednarz@tamu.edu

Website

 

Dr. Simon Catling

Emeritus Professor

Oxford Brookes University, School of Education, Harcourt Hill Campus, OX2 9AT Oxford, United Kingdom
Email: sjcatling@brookes.ac.uk

Website

 

Dr. Ivy Tan

Associate Professor Humanities & Social Studies Education Academic Group

National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, 1 Nanyang Walk, Singapore 637616
Tel: (65) 6790 3415
Email: ivy.tan@nie.edu.sg

Website

Sirpa Tani

Dr. Sirpa Tani

Professor of Geography and Environmental Education

Faculty of Educational Sciences,

P.O. Box 9, FI-00014 University of Helsinki, Finland
Tel. +358-5044825099

Email: sirpa.tani@helsinki.fi

Website

Dr. Lex Chalmers

University of Waikato, Geography, Hillcrest Road, 3240 Hamilton, New Zealand
Email: lex@waikato.ac.nz

 

 

 

Dr. Joe Stoltman

Professor

Editor IRGEE

Department of Geography, College of Arts and Sciences, Western Michigan University, 3219 Wood Hall, Kalamazoo MI 49008-5424 USA
Office: (269) 387-3410
Email: joseph.stoltman@wmich.edu

Website

Dr. Sibylle Reinfried

Professor Emiritus

University of Teacher Education Central Switzerland Lucerne, Dep. of Teaching and Learning, Frohburgstrasse 3, 6002 Lucerne, Switzerland
Email:  reinfried@geoeduc.ch

Website

 

 

Map of the Members of the Steering Committee and Regional Contacts

To learn more about a contact, click on the respective icon on the map.

Content not available.
Please allow cookies by clicking Accept on the banner

View Larger Map


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close