Commission on Geographical Education of the International Geographical Union

People

Steering Committee of the IGU-CGE

Co-chair

 Clare Brooks
Reader in Geography Education
Institute of Education
University of London
20 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0AL, UK
Tel: +44 (0)20 7612 6047
Email: c.brooks@ioe.ac.uk

 

 

Co-chair

Chew-Hung Chang

Chief Planning Officer and Associate Professor, Humanities and Social Studies Education Academic Group, National Institute of Education| Adjunct Professor, East China Normal University| NIE 1-04-06, 1 Nanyang Walk, Singapore 637616
Tel: +65 6790-3084
Email: chewhung.chang@nie.edu.sg

Web: http://www.chewhung.net/

 

 

Secretary

 Jongwon Lee
Professor, Dept. of Social Studies Education, Ewha Womans University
Dept. of Social Studies Education, 52, Ewhayeodae-gil, Seodaemun-gu, Seoul 03760
S. Korea
Tel: +83 02 3277 2642
Email: jongwonlee@ewha.ac.kr

 

 

 

• Ali Demirci
Professor, Geography Education Specialist
Independent scholar
34083, Fatih, Istanbu, Turkey
Tel: +90 0533 8158046
E-mail: dmrc.ali@gmail.com

 

 

 

Andoni Arenas Martija
Associate Professor, Institute of Geography, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso, Avenida Brasil 2241. CP 2362807. Valparaíso, Chile.
Vice President, Chilean Society of Geographic Sciences, Avda. Vicuña Mackenna Nº 4860,
Macul – Santiago, Casilla 306 – Correo 22 – Santiago, Fax: 56-2 552 60 28Tel: +56 32 2274091 / +56 22 354 4755
Email: andoni.arenas@pucv.cl / andoni.arenas.geo@gmail.com
 

Daniela Schmeinck
Professor, Institute of Primary Science and Social Sciences
Universität zu Köln, Institut für Didaktik des Sachunterrichts, Albertus-Magnus-Platz 50923 Köln Deutschland, Germany
Tel: +49.(0)221.470.4216
Email: Daniela.Schmeinck@uni-koeln.de
 

David Örbring
Doctoral student in Educational Sciences, Lecturer in Human Geography
Lund University, Linneaus University
Lunds universitet, Campus Helsingborg
Institutionen för utbildningsvetenskap
Box 882, 25108 Helsingborg, Sweden
Tel: (Cell) 736510394
Email: david.orbring@uvet.lu.se / david.orbring@lnu.se
 

• Di Wilmot
Professor, Dean of Education, Faculty of Education
Rhodes University, Grahamstown 6140, South Africa
Tel: +27 46 6038385; (Cell) 083 654 6662
Email: D.Wilmot@ru.ac.za
 

Yu Shan DUAN
Professor,Vice Present and Secretary General of Geography Teaching Society of China, Director of Shanghai Geography Education and Teaching Research Base, Editor-in-chief of journal Geography Teaching
East China Normal University, 500 Dongchuan Rd, Shanghai 200241, P.R.China
Tel/Fax: +86-21-54344020
Mobile: +86-13701715221
Email: ysduan@126.com / ysduan@geo.ecnu.edu.cn
 

Gillian Kidman
Associate Professor in Science Education
Monash University, Room 166, Building 902, Berwick Campus 100 Clyde Road Berwick VIC 3806 Australia
Tel: +61 3 9904 7237
Email: gillian.kidman@monash.edu
 

 

 

Advisory members of the Steering Committee

Treasurer

Michael Solem, PhD
Educational Affairs Director
Association of American Geographers
1710 Sixteenth Street NW
Washington, DC 20009-3198, USA
Tel: 202-234-1450, ext. 143
Fax: 202-234-2744
Email: msolem@aag.org

Website

 

 John Lidstone
Professor Faculty of Education,
Cultural and Language Studies in Education
Queensland University of Technology
Victoria Park Road
Kelvin Grove, Brisbane, Queensland 4059, Australia
Email: j.lidstone@qut.edu.au
Editor IRGEEWebsite
 

 Joop van der Schee
Emeritus Professor for Geography Education
Faculty Behavioural and Movement Sciences
Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
post address: Buitenveldertselaan 3, 1082 VA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
E-mail: j.a.vander.schee@vu.nlWebsite: Website
 

• Osvaldo Muniz-Solari
Professor of Geography
Department of Geography
Texas State University
San Marcos, TX 78666, USA
Tel. 512-245-0375
Email: o.muniz@txstate.eduWebsite
 

Fernando Alexandre
Geography Coordinator – Department of Social Sciences
S. João do Estoril High School & Education and Development Research Unit
Faculty of Sciences and Technology, Lisbon
Rua Brito Camacho, 2769-501 Estoril, Portugal
Tel: +351 214658440
Fax: +351 214658447
Email: fernando.alexandre@essje.pt
 

Ivy Tan
Associate Professor Humanities & Social Studies Education Academic Group
National Institute of Education
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
1 Nanyang Walk, Singapore 637616
Tel: (65) 6790 3415
Fax: (65) 6896 9410
Email: ivy.tan@nie.edu.sgWebsite
 

 Sirpa Tani
Professor of Geography and Environmental Education
Department of Teacher Education, Applied Sciences of Education
P.O. Box 9
FI-00014 University of Helsinki, Finland
Tel. +358-9-19129572
Email: sirpa.tani@helsinki.fiWebsite
 

 Sarah Bednarz
Department of Geography
Texas A&M University
College Station, Texas 77843-3147
United States
Tel: 979 845 1579
Fax: 979 862 4487
Email: s-bednarz@tamu.eduWebsite
 

 

 Simon Catling
Oxford Brookes University
School of Education
Harcourt Hill Campus
OX2 9AT Oxford
United Kingdom
Email: sjcatling@brookes.ac.uk
 

 Joseph Stoltman
Department of Geography
College of Arts and Sciences
Western Michigan University
3219 Wood Hall
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5424 USA
Office: (269) 387-3410
Fax:    (269) 387-3442
Email: joseph.stoltman@wmich.edu
Editor IRGEEWebsite

 

 Lex Chalmers
University of Waikato
Geography
Hillcrest Road
3240 Hamilton
New Zealand
Email: lex@waikato.ac.nz
 

 Sibylle Reinfried
University of Teacher Education Central Switzerland Lucerne
Dep. of Teaching and Learning
Frohburgstrasse 3
6002 Lucerne
Switzerland
Email: sibylle.reinfried@phlu.chWebsite
 

 

 Webmaster

Kathrin Viehrig
Lecturer in Geography and Geography Education
ISEK, School of Education
FHNW
Bahnhofsstrasse 6
5210 Windisch
Office: +41 56 202 71 74
Email: webmaster@igu-cge.orgWebsite
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Map of the Members of the Steering Committee and Regional Contacts

To learn more about a contact, click on the respective icon on the map.

Content not available.
Please allow cookies by clicking Accept on the banner

View Larger Map

 

 

 


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close