Guidelines of the IGU-CGE
The IGU Commission on Geographical Education functions under these guidelines: Guidelines for Commissions and Study Groups (PDF)

Aims of the IGU-CGE

The IGU Commission on Geographical Education has set the following aims:
  • To implement the purposes of the International Geographical Union as defined in its statutes to promote geographical education around the world.
  • To enhance the place of geographical education in school, higher, vocational and community education, to develop higher international standards in geographical education, and to improve its status, role and image in school and university education, by disseminating the International Charter on Geographical Education and the International Declaration on Geographical Education for Cultural Diversity.
  • To develop an international research culture to conduct both local and cross-cultural investigations into issues of concern in geographical education.
  • To investigate and develop environmental education and education for development.
  • To investigate ways technology can enhance geographical education.
  • To develop the www-site of the Commission with internet standards and with refereed material.
  • To collaborate with other IGU Commissions to produce high quality teaching and learning materials incorporating research-based pedagogy.
  • To develop the capacity for citizens in all countries to increase awareness of geographical education as an important medium for promoting an active and informed citizenry and a more fulfilling life.
  • To improve communication amongst geographical educators across the world to enhance the Commission on Geographical Education as a community of scholars, and to promote and contribute to the scholarship of teaching in geographical education at all levels.
 
Steering Committee of the IGU Commission on Geographical Education

 
lijn

Co-chair

 John Lidstone
Professor Faculty of Education,
Cultural and Language Studies in Education
Queensland University of Technology
Victoria Park Road
Kelvin Grove, Brisbane, Queensland 4059, Australia
Email: j.lidstone@qut.edu.au
Website:staff.qut.edu.au/staff/lidstone/ Editor IRGEE

Co-chair

 Joop van der Schee
Professor for Geography Education and Communication
Faculty of Geosciences, Utrecht University, Heidelberglaan 2, Utrecht, The Netherlands,
tel. + 31 30 2531397
and special professor for Geography Education at VU University Amsterdam
on behalf of the Royal Dutch Geography Society.
E-mail: j.a.vander.schee@vu.nl
Website: www.joop.vdschee.nl

Van der Schee
       

Secretary

 Clare Brooks
Senior Lecturer in Geography Education
Institute of Education
University of London
20 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0AL, UK
Tel: +44 (0)20 7612 6047
Email: C.Brooks@ioe.ac.uk
Website:www.ioe.ac.uk, www.clarebrooks.com

Clare Brooks

Treasurer

Michael Solem, PhD
Educational Affairs Director
Association of American Geographers
1710 Sixteenth Street NW
Washington, DC 20009-3198, USA
Tel: 202-234-1450, ext. 143
Fax: 202-234-2744
Email: msolem@aag.org

Solem
       
lijn

Daniela Schmeinck
University of Cologne
Professor Institute of Primary Science and Social Sciences
Immermannstraße 49-51
50931 Köln
Germany
Tel: +49.(0)221.470.4216
Mail: Daniela.Schmeinck@uni-koeln.de
Website: www.Daniela-Schmeinck.de, www.sachunterricht.uni-koeln.de

Daniela Schmeink

• Ali Demirci, PhD
Associate Professor of Geography
Head of the Department of Geography
Fatih University
34500, Istanbul, Turkey
Tel: +90 212 866 34 08
E-mail: ademirci@fatih.edu.tr

 

Ali Demirci
       

Fernando Alexandre
Geography Coordinator - Department of Social Sciences
S. João do Estoril High School & Education and Development Research Unit
Faculty of Sciences and Technology, Lisbon
Rua Brito Camacho, 2769-501 Estoril, Portugal
Tel: +351 214658440
Fax: +351 214658447
Email: fernando.alexandre@essje.pt

Alexandre • Osvaldo Muniz-Solari
Professor of Geography
Department of Geography
Texas State University
San Marcos, TX 78666, USA
Tel. 512-245-0375
Email: o.muniz@txstate.edu
Muniz-Solari
   
Ivy Tan
Associate Professor Humanities & Social Studies Education Academic Group
National Institute of Education
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
1 Nanyang Walk, Singapore 637616
Tel: (65) 6790 3415
Fax: (65) 6896 9410
Email: ivy.tan@nie.edu.sg
Ivy Tan  Sirpa Tani
Professor of Geography and Environmental Education
Department of Teacher Education, Applied Sciences of Education
P.O. Box 9
FI-00014 University of Helsinki, Finland
Tel. +358-9-19129572
Email: sirpa.tani@helsinki.fi

Sirpa Tani

       

• Eje Kim
Gyeongin National University of Education
Department of Social Studies Education
430-040 San 6-8 Seoksu-Dong
Manan-Gu, Anyang-Si Gyonggi
South Korea
Email: hockie44@hotmail.com


   
lijn
Advisory Members  
lijn

 Sarah Bednarz
Department of Geography
Texas A&M University
College Station, Texas 77843-3147
United States
Tel: 979 845 1579
Fax: 979 862 4487
Email: s-bednarz@tamu.edu

 Simon Catling
Oxford Brookes University
School of Education
Harcourt Hill Campus
OX2 9AT Oxford
United Kingdom
Email: sjcatling@brookes.ac.uk

Haubrich
       

 Joseph Stoltman
Department of Geography
College of Arts and Sciences
Western Michigan University
3219 Wood Hall
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5424 USA
Office: (269) 387-3410
Fax:    (269) 387-3442
Email: joseph.stoltman@wmich.edu
Editor IRGEE

Stoltman

 Lex Chalmers
University of Waikato
Geography
Hillcrest Road
3240 Hamilton
New Zealand
Email: lex@waikato.ac.nz

       

 Sibylle Reinfried
University of Teacher Education Central Switzerland Lucerne
Dep. of Teaching and Learning
Frohburgstrasse 3
6002 Lucerne
Switzerland
Email: sibylle.reinfried@phz.ch

   
lijn
     

Members of the Steering Committee and Regional Contacts

Go to full screen map

     
   
 

2014 IGU
Commission on
Geographical Education